This seems so simple and yet I can't get it to work. Feels like I'm missing something.
I'm just taking the crag geo, timeshift freezing the first frame, and then trying to use transformpieces to animate the frozen pieces. However the frozen pieces aren't getting rotation info.
Why isn't this working, seems pretty straight forward.
Second question is. Say I wanted to fill his volume up with points. How does one pack points, like you do primatives? The idea being, if I can get this transform pieces to work, then I could do the same thing with points representing his volume.
basically I'm trying to find a way to fill a volume with points and have it animated to the geo while maintaining volume.
Thanks
Chris
transform pieces, packed geo
6890 10 5- chris wells
- Member
- 57 posts
- Joined: 1月 2015
- Offline
- krueger
- Member
- 191 posts
- Joined: 10月 2018
- Offline
I think the transformpieces sop needs an orient attribute to have correct rotation. But if you're just trying to scatter points inside the rest pose, you could give your crag points an ID attribute from $PT then scatter your points on the rest pose and use a point wrangle to transfer the animation:
Plug your points in the first input and the packed geo in the second input. You do need to have the crag at the rest pose though, not just the first frame.
It's also worth noting that the crag test geo isn't really good for this because there's a few transforms inside the HDA that can mess up the transforms…
matrix packedtransform = primintrinsic(1, "packedfulltransform", @id); p@orient = quaternion(matrix3(packedtransform)); v@P *= packedtransform;
Plug your points in the first input and the packed geo in the second input. You do need to have the crag at the rest pose though, not just the first frame.
It's also worth noting that the crag test geo isn't really good for this because there's a few transforms inside the HDA that can mess up the transforms…
- dim1984kimo
- Member
- 84 posts
- Joined: 8月 2008
- Offline
- chris wells
- Member
- 57 posts
- Joined: 1月 2015
- Offline
- chris wells
- Member
- 57 posts
- Joined: 1月 2015
- Offline
- krueger
- Member
- 191 posts
- Joined: 10月 2018
- Offline
- chris wells
- Member
- 57 posts
- Joined: 1月 2015
- Offline
- FJSam
- Member
- 18 posts
- Joined: 8月 2018
- Offline
dim1984kimo
Transform pieces usually is for destruction, in your case to address the requirement please use transform by attribute.
Check the file attached. You'll be fine even with points from volume, cache them before attribute copy SOP.
Hello,Thanks for the cool solution. I don't understand why inv_tm was used, would help a lot, thank you!
- Rendering_no
- Member
- 11 posts
- Joined: 12月 2017
- Offline
- coccarolla
- Member
- 73 posts
- Joined: 8月 2013
- Offline
- tamte
- Member
- 8785 posts
- Joined: 7月 2007
- Online
coccosoidsif you open the file from the first post in 18.5.311 or newer it should work
So is there a more user friendly way of achieving this in Houdini?
Houdini 18.5.311 The Transform Pieces SOP now supports using packed primitives in the second and third inputs to provide the transforms. Thu. August 20, 2020
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
-
- Quick Links