"Could not create OpenCL device" Houdini Console notification
32574 15 7- DevoStevo
- Member
- 35 posts
- Joined: 9月 2018
- Offline
I've seen some posts re: this issue but all have involved adding some code to a Houdini environment variable? to get it to use my GPU rather than CPU. I've only just started learning Houdini so I have no idea on where to add code as an environment variable or whatever it is I'm meant to do. Just hoping someone could explain to me in relatively simple terms on how to fix this. Cheers.
The only devil I know is in the detail.
- paulcorfield
- Member
- 4 posts
- Joined: 2月 2016
- Offline
If you are using Windows then the houdini.env file will be in the Windows documents folder. Open it with the notepad editor and underneath all of text that's already in there paste this code.
HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR = NVIDIA Corporation
HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
Then save the env file and start up Houdini again. When Houdini starts click the ‘help’ tab. Then at the bottom of the list choose ‘About Houdini’ and in the window that pops up put a tick in ‘Show details’ check box. Scroll about half way down to where it says ‘OpenCl Platform’ and it should now have your GPU listed.
HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR = NVIDIA Corporation
HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
Then save the env file and start up Houdini again. When Houdini starts click the ‘help’ tab. Then at the bottom of the list choose ‘About Houdini’ and in the window that pops up put a tick in ‘Show details’ check box. Scroll about half way down to where it says ‘OpenCl Platform’ and it should now have your GPU listed.
- DevoStevo
- Member
- 35 posts
- Joined: 9月 2018
- Offline
Thanks paulcorfield.
I've added to houdini.env file & seems to have fixed the issue (see updated copy of houdini.env below)
# Houdini Environment Settings
#
# The contents of this file are read into the environment
# at startup. They will override any existing entries in
# the environment.
#
# The syntax is one entry per line as follows:
# VAR = VALUE
#
# Values may be quoted
# VAR = “VALUE”
#
# Values may be empty
# VAR =
#
# Example:
#
# HOUDINI_NO_SPLASH = 1
HOUDINI_NVIDIA_OPTIX_DSO_PATH = C: /Users/…/Documents/houdini17.0\optix
HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR = NVIDIA Corporation
HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
I actually downloaded Nvidia optix the other day to see if that would help, which explains what was the last line of txt on the houdini.env file before I added the txt you provided below it. Not sure if having optix helped or not & not even sure if I needed to download or not.
I opened up the same file I got the message on the other day to test & no message so hoping that has fixed the issue. Thank you again. Legend.
I've added to houdini.env file & seems to have fixed the issue (see updated copy of houdini.env below)
# Houdini Environment Settings
#
# The contents of this file are read into the environment
# at startup. They will override any existing entries in
# the environment.
#
# The syntax is one entry per line as follows:
# VAR = VALUE
#
# Values may be quoted
# VAR = “VALUE”
#
# Values may be empty
# VAR =
#
# Example:
#
# HOUDINI_NO_SPLASH = 1
HOUDINI_NVIDIA_OPTIX_DSO_PATH = C: /Users/…/Documents/houdini17.0\optix
HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR = NVIDIA Corporation
HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
I actually downloaded Nvidia optix the other day to see if that would help, which explains what was the last line of txt on the houdini.env file before I added the txt you provided below it. Not sure if having optix helped or not & not even sure if I needed to download or not.
I opened up the same file I got the message on the other day to test & no message so hoping that has fixed the issue. Thank you again. Legend.
The only devil I know is in the detail.
- chanson78
- Member
- 45 posts
- Joined: 3月 2017
- Offline
I tried this but it didn't work for me.
My houdini.env file reads:
#
# Houdini Environment Settings
#
# The contents of this file are read into the environment
# at startup. They will override any existing entries in
# the environment.
#
# The syntax is one entry per line as follows:
# VAR = VALUE
#
# Values may be quoted
# VAR = “VALUE”
#
# Values may be empty
# VAR =
#
# Example:
#
# HOUDINI_NO_SPLASH = 1
HOUDINI_DSO_ERROR = 2
PATH = “COctane_3.08.0.9/bin;CProgramData/Redshift/bin;$PATH”
HOUDINI_PATH = “COctane_3.08.0.9;CProgramData/Redshift/Plugins/Houdini/16.5.634;&”
HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR = NVIDIA Corporation
HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
but still get warning No OpenCL platform has the specified device type (HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICETYPE): GPU. Falling back to built-in CPU OpenCL driver.
I'm on Windows 10, Houdini 16.5.634, 2x 1080ti
My houdini.env file reads:
#
# Houdini Environment Settings
#
# The contents of this file are read into the environment
# at startup. They will override any existing entries in
# the environment.
#
# The syntax is one entry per line as follows:
# VAR = VALUE
#
# Values may be quoted
# VAR = “VALUE”
#
# Values may be empty
# VAR =
#
# Example:
#
# HOUDINI_NO_SPLASH = 1
HOUDINI_DSO_ERROR = 2
PATH = “COctane_3.08.0.9/bin;CProgramData/Redshift/bin;$PATH”
HOUDINI_PATH = “COctane_3.08.0.9;CProgramData/Redshift/Plugins/Houdini/16.5.634;&”
HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR = NVIDIA Corporation
HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
but still get warning No OpenCL platform has the specified device type (HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICETYPE): GPU. Falling back to built-in CPU OpenCL driver.
I'm on Windows 10, Houdini 16.5.634, 2x 1080ti
- Benjamin Lemoine
- Member
- 143 posts
- Joined: 10月 2015
- Offline
Hello I am on windows 10 and i have this problem since i installed the last Nvidia Driver
Houdini can't find anymore my GPU (nvidia 1070) for OpenCL like if i go in preference/misc/OpenCL
Reverting to the previous NVIDIA driver fixed the issue
of course one day or another i will have to update my Driver so i reported this issue as a bug to Sidefx
Maybe it's because of the new RTX stuff they implement in the Driver, i don't know….
But you could try this , it worked for me !
Ben
Houdini can't find anymore my GPU (nvidia 1070) for OpenCL like if i go in preference/misc/OpenCL
Reverting to the previous NVIDIA driver fixed the issue
of course one day or another i will have to update my Driver so i reported this issue as a bug to Sidefx
Maybe it's because of the new RTX stuff they implement in the Driver, i don't know….
But you could try this , it worked for me !
Ben
- psanitra
- Member
- 20 posts
- Joined: 2月 2017
- Offline
- esse
- Member
- 4 posts
- Joined: 5月 2006
- Offline
@SteveS_66 would you mind listing the nVidia driver version you are using?
SteveS_66
Thanks paulcorfield.
I've added to houdini.env file & seems to have fixed the issue (see updated copy of houdini.env below)
# Houdini Environment Settings
#
# The contents of this file are read into the environment
# at startup. They will override any existing entries in
# the environment.
#
# The syntax is one entry per line as follows:
# VAR = VALUE
#
# Values may be quoted
# VAR = “VALUE”
#
# Values may be empty
# VAR =
#
# Example:
#
# HOUDINI_NO_SPLASH = 1
HOUDINI_NVIDIA_OPTIX_DSO_PATH = C: /Users/…/Documents/houdini17.0\optix
HOUDINI_OCL_VENDOR = NVIDIA Corporation
HOUDINI_OCL_DEVICENUMBER = 0
I actually downloaded Nvidia optix the other day to see if that would help, which explains what was the last line of txt on the houdini.env file before I added the txt you provided below it. Not sure if having optix helped or not & not even sure if I needed to download or not.
I opened up the same file I got the message on the other day to test & no message so hoping that has fixed the issue. Thank you again. Legend.
- DevoStevo
- Member
- 35 posts
- Joined: 9月 2018
- Offline
- Eddi
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: 10月 2019
- Offline
- manu3d
- Member
- 39 posts
- Joined: 12月 2018
- Offline
- BeanGuard
- Member
- 2 posts
- Joined: 7月 2016
- Offline
- akash.singh
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: 9月 2022
- Offline
- smoluck
- Member
- 20 posts
- Joined: 2月 2017
- Offline
- rmon61
- Member
- 7 posts
- Joined: 3月 2019
- Offline
akash.singhBeanGuard
I have same issue, but it is because I update my graphic card,
So if you have same problem with me,
Edit > Preferences > Miscellaneous > OpenCL Device
change to your new Card.
This works for me. The dedicated GPU was not selected in the settings.
this method worked for with RTX card Houdini 19.0
- mzigaib
- Member
- 976 posts
- Joined: 4月 2008
- Offline
- mzigaib
- Member
- 976 posts
- Joined: 4月 2008
- Offline
-
- Quick Links