Bullet physics implementation and other stuff
308838 385 4- buki
- Member
- 1773 posts
- Joined: 12月 2006
- Offline
Yessss! You rock!
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
- luoqiulin
- Member
- 305 posts
- Joined: 5月 2007
- Offline
- goldleaf
- スタッフ
- 4199 posts
- Joined: 9月 2007
- Offline
- Korhon
- Member
- 334 posts
- Joined: 7月 2007
- Offline
- cybermax
- Member
- 255 posts
- Joined: 8月 2009
- Offline
thx
luoqiulin: I dont get it too , but for me Its not problem compile and release plugin for every production build.
Korhon: For me, no problem. If SESI will want to bullet plugin, so I provide source code free (for v1.0 in future) for them.
But I think That SideFx want all dynamics in DOP network so this plugin is against their policy. Partially I agree with this, the DOP is for some things better than the SOP, but most users can work with the SOP( first thing what they learn in houdini) and DOP is different world. And this is reason why this implementation is SOP.
luoqiulin: I dont get it too , but for me Its not problem compile and release plugin for every production build.
Korhon: For me, no problem. If SESI will want to bullet plugin, so I provide source code free (for v1.0 in future) for them.
But I think That SideFx want all dynamics in DOP network so this plugin is against their policy. Partially I agree with this, the DOP is for some things better than the SOP, but most users can work with the SOP( first thing what they learn in houdini) and DOP is different world. And this is reason why this implementation is SOP.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
- horizon1231
- Member
- 52 posts
- Joined: 7月 2007
- Offline
goldleaf
I've experienced both. Some plugins have been compiled with one version, and still load in later builds of houdini. Others need to be recompiled for each build. I believe it all depends on what changes are occurring under the hood, and if they affect the HDK functions used by the plugin.
cybermax may compiled bullet as a static dso ,i assume. so it can not be used with later version.
if he build bullet as dynamic, we must compile bullet libary by self.
- cybermax
- Member
- 255 posts
- Joined: 8月 2009
- Offline
horizon1231
cybermax may compiled bullet as a static dso ,i assume. so it can not be used with later version.
if he build bullet as dynamic, we must compile bullet libary by self.
I am using hcmd.exe with >hcustom SOP_bullet.cpp<
of course I have some -L -l -I parameters
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
- horizon1231
- Member
- 52 posts
- Joined: 7月 2007
- Offline
cybermaxhorizon1231
cybermax may compiled bullet as a static dso ,i assume. so it can not be used with later version.
if he build bullet as dynamic, we must compile bullet libary by self.
I am using hcmd.exe with >hcustom SOP_bullet.cpp<
of course I have some -L -l -I parameters
check hcustom –help for detail
-s
-g
-e
…
- cybermax
- Member
- 255 posts
- Joined: 8月 2009
- Offline
horizon1231: I know about others parameters, but It is not help me
I made new video: http://vimeo.com/15006308 [vimeo.com]
Nothing special, but I like it.
I made new video: http://vimeo.com/15006308 [vimeo.com]
Nothing special, but I like it.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
- buki
- Member
- 1773 posts
- Joined: 12月 2006
- Offline
when i start houdini i get 2 error messages, the plugins work, but also get these messages every time i start mplay, which is a bit annoying.
Could it be that i'm missing some libraries from my system?
attached 2 images with the error.
Could it be that i'm missing some libraries from my system?
attached 2 images with the error.
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
- cybermax
- Member
- 255 posts
- Joined: 8月 2009
- Offline
buki
when i start houdini i get 2 error messages, the plugins work, but also get these messages every time i start mplay, which is a bit annoying.
Could it be that i'm missing some libraries from my system?.
Do you have Houdini 11.0.469 ???
v0.95 is for H11.0.446.9, v0.97 is for H11.0.469.
Someone else has the same problem???
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
- neonshaun
- Member
- 31 posts
- Joined: 5月 2008
- Offline
- buki
- Member
- 1773 posts
- Joined: 12月 2006
- Offline
yes i have .469 and running v0.97, i was surprised too that had errors when i installed, im suspecting that i'm maybe missing some microsoft libraries.
If not much of a work, can You please compile it with latest production build.
If not much of a work, can You please compile it with latest production build.
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
- cybermax
- Member
- 255 posts
- Joined: 8月 2009
- Offline
neonshaun: yeh, I know about this, I have some plan for future development, so maybe next version
buki: I know where is problem
I guess that you have problem only with GroupConvert node, other are ok.
Problem is that v0.97 dont use GroupConvert and this node is not in zip file for download. And you have this node from version 0.95 which was compile for older houdini.
So solution is delete groupConvert. With v0.97 you dont have to use it. You have SOP_ShortGroup.
buki: I know where is problem
I guess that you have problem only with GroupConvert node, other are ok.
Problem is that v0.97 dont use GroupConvert and this node is not in zip file for download. And you have this node from version 0.95 which was compile for older houdini.
So solution is delete groupConvert. With v0.97 you dont have to use it. You have SOP_ShortGroup.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
- buki
- Member
- 1773 posts
- Joined: 12月 2006
- Offline
Ah yes!! Thanks, so simple ops:
daniel bukovec | senior fx td | weta digital
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
qLib -- http://qlab.github.io/qLib/ [qlab.github.io]
- Ratmann
- Member
- 110 posts
- Joined:
- Offline
- cybermax
- Member
- 255 posts
- Joined: 8月 2009
- Offline
Ratmann
Hey cybermax, I just started testing this , some neat stuff you got here.
I'll try to post a video of some stuff later.
Hi, your videos are welcome.
I discover few bugs in v0.97 so I release next version soon, but now I working on one big house where I testing this new version, so I upload some new video soon.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
- cybermax
- Member
- 255 posts
- Joined: 8月 2009
- Offline
v0.975
- H11.0.469, Win64
- fix some bugs
This release doesnt include new features, only fix some bugs if you work with large scene with 1000x objects.
I release this because I start working with glue objects with btCompoundShape and I need some time than I implement it.
I hope that btCompoundShape bring more stability for large object than constraints. Problem with constraints is that if you have more constraints(thousands), there is some errors( vibrate ), so solution is increase substeps but this increase sim time and there is situation where problem is still. I made some research and I think that this is right way.
- H11.0.469, Win64
- fix some bugs
This release doesnt include new features, only fix some bugs if you work with large scene with 1000x objects.
I release this because I start working with glue objects with btCompoundShape and I need some time than I implement it.
I hope that btCompoundShape bring more stability for large object than constraints. Problem with constraints is that if you have more constraints(thousands), there is some errors( vibrate ), so solution is increase substeps but this increase sim time and there is situation where problem is still. I made some research and I think that this is right way.
https://vimeo.com/user3251535 [vimeo.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
https://twitter.com/milansuk [twitter.com]
https://github.com/milansuk [github.com]
- splitpoint
- Member
- 57 posts
- Joined: 5月 2007
- Offline
- Ratmann
- Member
- 110 posts
- Joined:
- Offline
cybermax
v0.975
- H11.0.469, Win64
- fix some bugs
This release doesnt include new features, only fix some bugs if you work with large scene with 1000x objects.
I release this because I start working with glue objects with btCompoundShape and I need some time than I implement it.
I hope that btCompoundShape bring more stability for large object than constraints. Problem with constraints is that if you have more constraints(thousands), there is some errors( vibrate ), so solution is increase substeps but this increase sim time and there is situation where problem is still. I made some research and I think that this is right way.
I can confirm that btCompoundShape does indeed make glue type work much more stable.
Thought you'll most likely have to add in a secondary connectivity system with interconnecting lines for the points. To give it an internal structure to calculate impulse strengths and overall connection between the pieces.
I found this to be the best way to work with this sort of stuff, and I've seen it done at two separate places with very, very similar bullet setup.
Hope this helps at all.
-
- Quick Links