I'm trying to setup some script expression using SELECT_NAME, SELECT_PATH, SELECT_SHIFT … _ALT , _CTRL variables.
Unfortunately I can't even succeed in running:
message $SELECT_NAME
straight from docs.
It just pops an empty message box.
All of these SELECT_* variables are highlighted red in the editor.
I thought they are no longer supported, but SELECT_PICK actually works.
Getting selected node is obviously not a problem, stardard variables like $OS and expressions (e.g. `opfullpath(“.”)`) works exactly like expected.
But the thing is I badly need the SELECT_SHIFT, SELECT_ALT and SELECT_CTRL.
first post from eonssss haa !
select script variables
4582 6 1- peliosis
- Member
- 175 posts
- Joined: 7月 2005
- Offline
- edward
- Member
- 7871 posts
- Joined: 7月 2005
- Offline
- peliosis
- Member
- 175 posts
- Joined: 7月 2005
- Offline
I'm pretty sure, see attached file.
With SELECT_PICK unset the node is not being selected.
I just can't get SELECT_NAME and SELECT_SHIFT to work
no matter if inside quotes, tildes or without.
These guys work as supposed:
message $F
message `$F`
message “$F”
For sure I'm making some mistake, but haven't spot it so far.
With SELECT_PICK unset the node is not being selected.
I just can't get SELECT_NAME and SELECT_SHIFT to work
no matter if inside quotes, tildes or without.
These guys work as supposed:
message $F
message `$F`
message “$F”
For sure I'm making some mistake, but haven't spot it so far.
- peliosis
- Member
- 175 posts
- Joined: 7月 2005
- Offline
It gets stranger.
I got to this results via complete accident.
The following script displays an empty message box:
message `$SELECT_NAME`
The next code displays an empty message box and after that a correct message box, containing a name of selected object.
message `$SELECT_NAME`
message `$SELECT_NAME`
But most surprisingly, the following script displays one, correct message box, containing the name:
#message `$SELECT_NAME`
message `$SELECT_NAME`
This is a partial success.
I'm not sure why it works like that.
Also, with SELECT_SHIFT it doesn't!
Perhaps there is a dark cloaked way of getting it to work?
I got to this results via complete accident.
The following script displays an empty message box:
message `$SELECT_NAME`
The next code displays an empty message box and after that a correct message box, containing a name of selected object.
message `$SELECT_NAME`
message `$SELECT_NAME`
But most surprisingly, the following script displays one, correct message box, containing the name:
#message `$SELECT_NAME`
message `$SELECT_NAME`
This is a partial success.
I'm not sure why it works like that.
Also, with SELECT_SHIFT it doesn't!
Perhaps there is a dark cloaked way of getting it to work?
- peliosis
- Member
- 175 posts
- Joined: 7月 2005
- Offline
- peliosis
- Member
- 175 posts
- Joined: 7月 2005
- Offline
Looks like writing a script in paramter line yields different results than loading it from file.
After running select script from file, the code from docs actually works
message $SELECT_NAME
Also message $SELECT_PICK
returns a message box with a value of 1 (correctly).
But the rest of variables (SELECT_SHIFT etc.) returns an empty message box and an undefined variable error.
At least I know they are not defined.
Does anybody have a clue how to get to them?
After running select script from file, the code from docs actually works
message $SELECT_NAME
Also message $SELECT_PICK
returns a message box with a value of 1 (correctly).
But the rest of variables (SELECT_SHIFT etc.) returns an empty message box and an undefined variable error.
At least I know they are not defined.
Does anybody have a clue how to get to them?
- edward
- Member
- 7871 posts
- Joined: 7月 2005
- Offline
The pickscript parameter value is first evaluated and then the expanded result is executed. So these variables don't exist until during the execution phase. So you need to escape the dollar signs with backslashes if you're directly typing it as the script value
message \$SELECT_NAME \$SELECT_PICK \$SELECT_SHIFT \$SELECT_CTRL
This behaves as expected for me.
message \$SELECT_NAME \$SELECT_PICK \$SELECT_SHIFT \$SELECT_CTRL
This behaves as expected for me.
-
- Quick Links