Hello,
I'm curious if pivot painter 2.0 is still on the roadmap for sidefxlabs? It supports deeper hierarchies.
Found this on the old github https://github.com/sideeffects/GameDevelopmentToolset/issues/71 [github.com]
If yes would love to get a rough idea of when? I might give it a shot myself if it's low priority for you
Thanks a lot!
Pivot Painter 2.0 for use with Unreal Engine ?
10764 15 3- vinz
- Member
- 113 posts
- Joined: 12月 2007
- Offline
- Ambrosiussen
- Member
- 197 posts
- Joined: 7月 2015
- Offline
- vinz
- Member
- 113 posts
- Joined: 12月 2007
- Offline
- IamBramer
- Member
- 8 posts
- Joined: 7月 2018
- Offline
Just wanted to voice my desire to see Pivot Painter get updated/fixed for Unreal as well. I spent a solid amount of time trying to troubleshoot the current pivot painter before finally coming to the realization that it currently doesn't work as intended with newer versions of Unreal.
You guys do solid work and you've got a TON going on over there, so I can see this not being high priority, but man would I LOVE to be able to use this tool.
You guys do solid work and you've got a TON going on over there, so I can see this not being high priority, but man would I LOVE to be able to use this tool.
- nabil_kechiche
- Member
- 6 posts
- Joined: 4月 2020
- Offline
- volodXYZ
- Member
- 12 posts
- Joined: 10月 2020
- Offline
- kacperogo
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: 11月 2019
- Offline
- Ambrosiussen
- Member
- 197 posts
- Joined: 7月 2015
- Offline
- vinz
- Member
- 113 posts
- Joined: 12月 2007
- Offline
Hi Paul,
Thanks a lot for the update and Pivot painter 2 support!
I went through your youtube tutorial and was then trying to get a MAT with the PivotPainter2FoliageShader MF to work (the one that does the wind effect) but it doesn't seem to work as intended right now.
I think I've narrowed it down to the parentIndex not being correct, looking at the Set_Parent_Index attribute wrangle, I see :
i@parentIndex = max(len(hierarchysplit)-2, 0);
This seems to point to the parent hierarchy level but not the actual parent index?
for numberOfStepsFromRoot you have i@numberOfStepsFromRoot = max(len(hierarchysplit)-1,0); which is pretty close and makes sense.
I'll try to dive a bit deeper, but let me know what you think!
Thank you!
edit : a minor comment : it would be great if pivotpainter1 was not templated be default inside, since the layout lightmap uvs is on and the flatten uv operation is pretty slow! (I also noticed you still had the PP2 placeholder inside PP1 )
edit2 : for other that have issues, with PP2 I had to uncheck generate lightmap UVs in Unreal which is on by default, otherwise it overwrites the necessary UVs created by the HDA.
Thanks a lot for the update and Pivot painter 2 support!
I went through your youtube tutorial and was then trying to get a MAT with the PivotPainter2FoliageShader MF to work (the one that does the wind effect) but it doesn't seem to work as intended right now.
I think I've narrowed it down to the parentIndex not being correct, looking at the Set_Parent_Index attribute wrangle, I see :
i@parentIndex = max(len(hierarchysplit)-2, 0);
This seems to point to the parent hierarchy level but not the actual parent index?
for numberOfStepsFromRoot you have i@numberOfStepsFromRoot = max(len(hierarchysplit)-1,0); which is pretty close and makes sense.
I'll try to dive a bit deeper, but let me know what you think!
Thank you!
edit : a minor comment : it would be great if pivotpainter1 was not templated be default inside, since the layout lightmap uvs is on and the flatten uv operation is pretty slow! (I also noticed you still had the PP2 placeholder inside PP1 )
edit2 : for other that have issues, with PP2 I had to uncheck generate lightmap UVs in Unreal which is on by default, otherwise it overwrites the necessary UVs created by the HDA.
Edited by vinz - 2021年2月7日 15:49:45
- IamBramer
- Member
- 8 posts
- Joined: 7月 2018
- Offline
Ambrosiussen
Hi,
Just dropping in to announce I will be releasing PP2 in labs by the end of this week.
I just saw there was an updated video on the site for this so I popped over here and found this. Haven't had a chance to test this yet but you have no idea how huge this update is for me. It is such an essential part of what I'm trying to create for my game. THANK YOU!
- Ambrosiussen
- Member
- 197 posts
- Joined: 7月 2015
- Offline
IamBramerAmbrosiussen
Hi,
Just dropping in to announce I will be releasing PP2 in labs by the end of this week.
I just saw there was an updated video on the site for this so I popped over here and found this. Haven't had a chance to test this yet but you have no idea how huge this update is for me. It is such an essential part of what I'm trying to create for my game. THANK YOU!
Very welcome! Be sure to share some results once you have something cool to show
vinz
Hi Paul,
Thanks a lot for the update and Pivot painter 2 support!
I went through your youtube tutorial and was then trying to get a MAT with the PivotPainter2FoliageShader MF to work (the one that does the wind effect) but it doesn't seem to work as intended right now.
I think I've narrowed it down to the parentIndex not being correct, looking at the Set_Parent_Index attribute wrangle, I see :
i@parentIndex = max(len(hierarchysplit)-2, 0);
This seems to point to the parent hierarchy level but not the actual parent index?
for numberOfStepsFromRoot you have i@numberOfStepsFromRoot = max(len(hierarchysplit)-1,0); which is pretty close and makes sense.
Thanks for reporting this! Could you please file a bug with support so I can better track it?
- vinz
- Member
- 113 posts
- Joined: 12月 2007
- Offline
- DodgeRollBrent
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: 2月 2019
- Offline
Yes, the parent index is wrong.
Changing the Set_Parent_Index AttributeWrangle to something along these lines:
should fix it.
Changing the Set_Parent_Index AttributeWrangle to something along these lines:
string hierarchysplit[] = split(s@hierarchy, "/"); i@parentIndex = max(len(hierarchysplit)-2, 0); if (len(hierarchysplit)>1) { string parentString = hierarchysplit[len(hierarchysplit)-2]; for (int primitive=0; primitive < nprimitives(0); primitive++) { string currentsplit[] = split(prim(0,"hierarchy",primitive),"/"); string currentname = currentsplit[len(currentsplit)-1]; if (parentString == currentname) { i@parentIndex = prim(0,"selectionIndex",primitive); } } } i@numberOfStepsFromRoot = max(len(hierarchysplit)-1,0); f@random01Value = rand(random_shash(s@hierarchy));
should fix it.
- vinz
- Member
- 113 posts
- Joined: 12月 2007
- Offline
DodgeRollBrent
Yes, the parent index is wrong.
Changing the Set_Parent_Index AttributeWrangle to something along these lines:
Thank you, that was helpful! finally had time to dig more into it, and the other change that was needed was to use the "index" attribute that's created further down (and so have the wrangle further down), and it now appears to work as expected, but will do more testing.
Edited by vinz - 2021年4月9日 10:57:56
- Ambrosiussen
- Member
- 197 posts
- Joined: 7月 2015
- Offline
Hi, thanks for reporting these issues. I have verified and fixed them.
If you update Labs, drop down a NEW instance of PivotPainter you will have the improvements.
Additionally you can now provide an up vector, which the tool will use when encoding the information, rather than trying to derive it automatically. If no up is found on the pivot points, it will fall back to old behavior.
You can now also customize the range used for encoding. Previously this was hardcoded to 2048 (like in 3dsmax), but this has now been made a variable you can tweak. Lowering this number will give you far superior precision, and this change is coming to the max plugin soon too.
If you update Labs, drop down a NEW instance of PivotPainter you will have the improvements.
Additionally you can now provide an up vector, which the tool will use when encoding the information, rather than trying to derive it automatically. If no up is found on the pivot points, it will fall back to old behavior.
You can now also customize the range used for encoding. Previously this was hardcoded to 2048 (like in 3dsmax), but this has now been made a variable you can tweak. Lowering this number will give you far superior precision, and this change is coming to the max plugin soon too.
- vinz
- Member
- 113 posts
- Joined: 12月 2007
- Offline
-
- Quick Links