Output Mesh Vertex Count
9808 17 2- spaceapegames
- Member
- 5 posts
- Joined: March 2018
- Offline
I've been using Houdini and Houdini Engine for Unity for a few months now and I always thought the vertex count is a bit higher than it should be. To get to the bottom of this I created a simple OTL that outputs an input mesh.
After importing the mesh in Maya for further inspection, it seems that Houdini Engine does not weld any verts together even if they share the same attributes. You can see that each triangle is surrounded by a mesh border. Is there any way to go around this?
After importing the mesh in Maya for further inspection, it seems that Houdini Engine does not weld any verts together even if they share the same attributes. You can see that each triangle is surrounded by a mesh border. Is there any way to go around this?
Edited by spaceapegames - May 4, 2018 13:17:27
- vchernobai
- Member
- 17 posts
- Joined: Jan. 2013
- Offline
- seelan
- Member
- 571 posts
- Joined: May 2017
- Offline
- spaceapegames
- Member
- 5 posts
- Joined: March 2018
- Offline
Thank you for the reply! Using Version 1 of the Houdini Engine with “Split Point by Vertex Attributes” seems to output a vert count closer to Unity and solves the issue completely.
We are working on mobile games and keeping an eye on vertex counts is quite important for performance. It would be a shame if we have to stick to v1 when v2 goes out of beta. Is there any chance of having this as an option for Version 2 in the future? Or maybe have a “vertex count reduce” post step when baking the mesh.
We are working on mobile games and keeping an eye on vertex counts is quite important for performance. It would be a shame if we have to stick to v1 when v2 goes out of beta. Is there any chance of having this as an option for Version 2 in the future? Or maybe have a “vertex count reduce” post step when baking the mesh.
- seelan
- Member
- 571 posts
- Joined: May 2017
- Offline
- spaceapegames
- Member
- 5 posts
- Joined: March 2018
- Offline
Thank you for looking into this seelanv. I really like the new Houdini Engine and looking forward to the option of using points instead of verts.
In the meantime, I implemented a “Weld Vertices” post step after a cook in our project. Not ideal since it's quite slow in Unity but it does give me a significant reduction in vert count without affecting the look of the geometry.
In the meantime, I implemented a “Weld Vertices” post step after a cook in our project. Not ideal since it's quite slow in Unity but it does give me a significant reduction in vert count without affecting the look of the geometry.
- seelan
- Member
- 571 posts
- Joined: May 2017
- Offline
Available in today's build (16.5.475) is the option to use points instead of vertices.
Also added LOD Groups as well: https://www.sidefx.com/docs/unity/_meshes.html#Meshes_Output_LOD [www.sidefx.com]
Also added LOD Groups as well: https://www.sidefx.com/docs/unity/_meshes.html#Meshes_Output_LOD [www.sidefx.com]
- spaceapegames
- Member
- 5 posts
- Joined: March 2018
- Offline
- cgrum
- Member
- 13 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2019
- Offline
seelanUnfortunately use points instead of vertices loose all uv's set ups in hda.
Available in today's build (16.5.475) is the option to use points instead of vertices.
Also added LOD Groups as well: https://www.sidefx.com/docs/unity/_meshes.html#Meshes_Output_LOD [www.sidefx.com]
- vchernobai
- Member
- 17 posts
- Joined: Jan. 2013
- Offline
- squaredanced
- Member
- 12 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2017
- Offline
cgrumseelanUnfortunately use points instead of vertices loose all uv's set ups in hda.
Available in today's build (16.5.475) is the option to use points instead of vertices.
Also added LOD Groups as well: https://www.sidefx.com/docs/unity/_meshes.html#Meshes_Output_LOD [www.sidefx.com]
Us there any fix for this issue? I'm facing it right now. ‘Generate Mesh Using Points’ handles Cd, but not uvs. Any workaround?
- cgrum
- Member
- 13 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2019
- Offline
squaredancedWe just downgrade to 17.5.173 it's the way atm to fix thatcgrumseelanUnfortunately use points instead of vertices loose all uv's set ups in hda.
Available in today's build (16.5.475) is the option to use points instead of vertices.
Also added LOD Groups as well: https://www.sidefx.com/docs/unity/_meshes.html#Meshes_Output_LOD [www.sidefx.com]
Us there any fix for this issue? I'm facing it right now. ‘Generate Mesh Using Points’ handles Cd, but not uvs. Any workaround?
- melMass
- Member
- 12 posts
- Joined: June 2014
- Offline
@seelan
I'm not sure to understand the logic.
If I use vertices each face is detached as you explained but my vertex attribute is at the right spot.
I need faces to be connected in Unity so I checked “use points”. But now the issue is that the attribute is not properly applied, I've uploaded screenshots of the issue here:
https://www.notion.so/melm/Houdini-Engine-Issue-7a30bf684a43486190b95b70f0e5f825 [www.notion.so]
In both cases, I checked the size of the vertices array and the attribute array and each match. (of course, I'm using vertex attributes in the first case and point attributes in the second)
Do you know what can cause this?
I'm not sure to understand the logic.
If I use vertices each face is detached as you explained but my vertex attribute is at the right spot.
I need faces to be connected in Unity so I checked “use points”. But now the issue is that the attribute is not properly applied, I've uploaded screenshots of the issue here:
https://www.notion.so/melm/Houdini-Engine-Issue-7a30bf684a43486190b95b70f0e5f825 [www.notion.so]
In both cases, I checked the size of the vertices array and the attribute array and each match. (of course, I'm using vertex attributes in the first case and point attributes in the second)
Do you know what can cause this?
- melMass
- Member
- 12 posts
- Joined: June 2014
- Offline
- seelan
- Member
- 571 posts
- Joined: May 2017
- Offline
If you use points, make sure all your attributes are using points as owner.
If you use vertices, make sure all your attributes are using vertex as owner. Otherwise, point attributes will get split into vertices.
If you are still having issues, please submit a bug with a sample HDA to support@sidefx.com
If you use vertices, make sure all your attributes are using vertex as owner. Otherwise, point attributes will get split into vertices.
If you are still having issues, please submit a bug with a sample HDA to support@sidefx.com
- melMass
- Member
- 12 posts
- Joined: June 2014
- Offline
- seelan
- Member
- 571 posts
- Joined: May 2017
- Offline
- melMass
- Member
- 12 posts
- Joined: June 2014
- Offline
-
- Quick Links