i am glad i found this thread! FYI you cant use a tablet when using the little window to find your area, it throws nan errors. you must use a mouse. although i failed to have my edits work.
(after installing mercantile) here are my edits
5 import mercantile
125 #terrain_url = "https://api.mapbox.com/v4/mapbox.terrain-rgb/ [api.mapbox.com]" + str(lon) +"," + str(lat) + "," + str((zoom+1)) + "/1024x1024@2x.png?access_token=" + API_KEY
126 #fixed code
127 x, y, z = mercantile.tile(lon, lat, zoom)
128 terrain_url = f"https://api.mapbox.com/v4/mapbox.terrain-rgb/ [api.mapbox.com]{z}/{x}/{y},512@2x.pngraw?access_token={API_KEY}"
this is the error, when i find my location and press download...
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "labs::Sop/mapbox::2.1, PythonModule", line 222, in <lambda>
File "labs::Sop/mapbox::2.1, PythonModule", line 63, in on_button
File "labs::Sop/mapbox::2.1, PythonModule", line 169, in refresh
File "C:\PROGRA~1/SIDEEF~1/HOUDIN~1.435/houdini/python3.9libs\hou.py", line 16929, in cook
return _hou.Node_cook(self, *args, **kwargs)
hou.OperationFailed: The attempted operation failed.
Error while cooking.
Houdini 19 Mapbox not functioning
16146 31 14- IsStuff
- Member
- 238 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- Novaquark
- Member
- 2 posts
- Joined: May 2023
- Offline
Is there an official fix for this yet?
MaiAo
swSharkBoy_02's findings are correct. Mapbox changed their API for elevation/height map access. I'm talking to Mapbox devs about this issue. We will update the tool as soon as we find a satisfactory fix.
To further clarify, the error message generated by our Mapbox node is due to missing height map, which in turn was due to height map download links stopped working.
- axelsp
- Member
- 100 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2006
- Offline
- Alex Amos
- Member
- 28 posts
- Joined: June 2019
- Offline
I had this working previously (about a month or so ago) but now I'm getting a "CORS" error:
replaced the actual access token with "<key>" in this quote only, the actual key is being used in the node.
Qt Error: Access to XMLHttpRequest at 'http://a.tiles.mapbox.com/v4/mapbox.satellite.json?access_token=<key>' from origin 'file://' has been blocked by CORS policy: No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource.
Qt Error: could not load TileJSON at http://a.tiles.mapbox.com/v4/mapbox.satellite.json?access_token=<key>
replaced the actual access token with "<key>" in this quote only, the actual key is being used in the node.
- OlaHaldor
- Member
- 11 posts
- Joined: April 2016
- Offline
- polimpiado
- Member
- 43 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2016
- Offline
MaiAomonci
...
@MaiAo Any ideas of using 1024 or higher resolution for heightmap?
Mapbox confirmed that their new API only support up to 512 now. We can look into whether there is a good way to upres it. Overall fix for the bug ETA early next week if not sooner.
Has this been fixed? Is it a matter of updating the Lab Tools?
Thanks
- Christophe Leyder
- Member
- 4 posts
- Joined: June 2015
- Offline
I've found an alternative solution for now until its fixed if if anyone needs one. Im using https://github.com/domlysz/BlenderGIS [github.com] exporting the mesh to houdini and doing a heightfeild project from that mesh.
EDIT: https://bereg.gumroad.com/l/IMnXfK [bereg.gumroad.com]
This HDA worked for me
EDIT: https://bereg.gumroad.com/l/IMnXfK [bereg.gumroad.com]
This HDA worked for me
Edited by Christophe Leyder - July 8, 2023 05:18:03
- adamseeley
- Member
- 18 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2015
- Offline
Hi,
Via the updated H19+ supported link
https://bereg.gumroad.com/l/IMnXfK [bereg.gumroad.com]
I downloaded put the new
mapbox_on_steroids.1.1.hda
And put it in:
Documents/Houdini19.5/otls
(I made the otls folder to put it in)
Now it seems to work when I start up H19.5
I'm still a bit fresh to Houdini, especially when it comes to plugins, system variables, paths etc, but it seems to work.
Let me know if it should go somewhere else though. It feels like I've put a car wheel on back-to-front. The car drives, it steers, but I get the feeling the wheel might come off going around a corner.
There are a few things to watch out for though.
- When you pull a new node up to start with you have to stick the API key in each time (doesn't seem to remember you did it before)
- When you start the first Lookup it still gives this error:
Invalid source /obj/geo1/mapbox_on_steroids2/load_height_information/cop2net1
Error: Failed to open COP network.
(I think it might just be looking for un-generated data)
Just put some coords in and hit lookup and it seems to come right.
- It seems to download data that is one zoom out... i.e. if you have zoom 14, you'll get an area that covers a zoom of 13.
- And, it doesn't seem to refresh the texture when you update with a new position/zoom so you have to hit Render->Update Textures to refresh.
Anyway, at least it's working.
Let me know if there's a better way to do it.
Via the updated H19+ supported link
https://bereg.gumroad.com/l/IMnXfK [bereg.gumroad.com]
I downloaded put the new
mapbox_on_steroids.1.1.hda
And put it in:
Documents/Houdini19.5/otls
(I made the otls folder to put it in)
Now it seems to work when I start up H19.5
I'm still a bit fresh to Houdini, especially when it comes to plugins, system variables, paths etc, but it seems to work.
Let me know if it should go somewhere else though. It feels like I've put a car wheel on back-to-front. The car drives, it steers, but I get the feeling the wheel might come off going around a corner.
There are a few things to watch out for though.
- When you pull a new node up to start with you have to stick the API key in each time (doesn't seem to remember you did it before)
- When you start the first Lookup it still gives this error:
Invalid source /obj/geo1/mapbox_on_steroids2/load_height_information/cop2net1
Error: Failed to open COP network.
(I think it might just be looking for un-generated data)
Just put some coords in and hit lookup and it seems to come right.
- It seems to download data that is one zoom out... i.e. if you have zoom 14, you'll get an area that covers a zoom of 13.
- And, it doesn't seem to refresh the texture when you update with a new position/zoom so you have to hit Render->Update Textures to refresh.
Anyway, at least it's working.
Let me know if there's a better way to do it.
- jigstuff13
- Member
- 2 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2021
- Offline
- mucylulu
- Member
- 3 posts
- Joined: May 2023
- Offline
Alex Amoshave the same issue,don't konw how to fix it. ver=19.5.640
I had this working previously (about a month or so ago) but now I'm getting a "CORS" error:Qt Error: Access to XMLHttpRequest at 'http://a.tiles.mapbox.com/v4/mapbox.satellite.json?access_token=<key>' from origin 'file://' has been blocked by CORS policy: No 'Access-Control-Allow-Origin' header is present on the requested resource.
Qt Error: could not load TileJSON at http://a.tiles.mapbox.com/v4/mapbox.satellite.json?access_token=<key>
replaced the actual access token with "<key>" in this quote only, the actual key is being used in the node.
- jigstuff13
- Member
- 2 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2021
- Offline
- derki
- Member
- 3 posts
- Joined: Oct. 2021
- Offline
This looks like solution:
Alexandr Kirichenko (Faitel) made a new version of the asset, that works on newer Houdini versions.
All glory to him!
https://bereg.gumroad.com/l/IMnXfK?fbclid=IwAR2hWPuZysAI7Sl88UxqUd7Sje142au3syZQEqOJPZaTaqgCv-VlhAti6k4 [bereg.gumroad.com]
its .hda file (one for olders houdini version, one in python 3 for newer versions) (instructions to instal it here) [www.sidefx.com]
tested it and it works!
Alexandr Kirichenko (Faitel) made a new version of the asset, that works on newer Houdini versions.
All glory to him!
https://bereg.gumroad.com/l/IMnXfK?fbclid=IwAR2hWPuZysAI7Sl88UxqUd7Sje142au3syZQEqOJPZaTaqgCv-VlhAti6k4 [bereg.gumroad.com]
its .hda file (one for olders houdini version, one in python 3 for newer versions) (instructions to instal it here) [www.sidefx.com]
tested it and it works!
-
- Quick Links