manually created … what does that stand for???
real banal question but it´s driving me real crazy. (note: i´m new to houdini)
i think it happens when i hit any key or something like that.
the result is that in the network view all nodes are called “manually created” insted of “grid” or “spehre” etc.
what does this mean and how do i get rid of that???
greetings gerd
manually created ... what does that stand for? SOLVED!!!
10949 11 0- gerd
- Member
- 45 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2010
- Offline
- tamte
- Member
- 8810 posts
- Joined: July 2007
- Offline
- graham
- Member
- 1922 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2006
- Offline
The N hotkey toggles between node names, nothing, and how they were created.
This new feature in Houdini 11 is to help people better see where nodes are being generated from. If you used a shelf tool to put down one or more nodes, then using the N key to toggle to this info, it will show the name of the tool that created them. Manually Created means that you created a node from the Tab menu in the network editor.
This new feature in Houdini 11 is to help people better see where nodes are being generated from. If you used a shelf tool to put down one or more nodes, then using the N key to toggle to this info, it will show the name of the tool that created them. Manually Created means that you created a node from the Tab menu in the network editor.
Graham Thompson, Technical Artist @ Rockstar Games
- gerd
- Member
- 45 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2010
- Offline
- keyframe
- Member
- 1533 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- rdms
- Member
- 201 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- keyframe
- Member
- 1533 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- EigenAlex
- Member
- 639 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- rdg
- Member
- 401 posts
- Joined:
- Offline
- graham
- Member
- 1922 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2006
- Offline
I agree in that it would be nice to have somewhere else. Or the ability to not toggle to it or disable it or whatever. I think it is definitely handy also in that it makes it easier for tool cleanup and whatnot when you need to remove nodes some tool has generated.
It is definitely possible to use it, or the isBuiltExplicitly flag inside a handler like OnCreated. If a node isn't manually created, it contains 2 entries in the nodes user data dictionary that provide the tool name and the number corresponding to the evocation of that tool which you can use for things. Manually created nodes have an empty dictionary by default.
>>> hou.node('/obj/box_object1').userDataDict()
{'___toolcount___': ‘1’, ‘___toolid___’: ‘sop_box’}
>>> hou.node('/obj/geo1').userDataDict()
{}
It is definitely possible to use it, or the isBuiltExplicitly flag inside a handler like OnCreated. If a node isn't manually created, it contains 2 entries in the nodes user data dictionary that provide the tool name and the number corresponding to the evocation of that tool which you can use for things. Manually created nodes have an empty dictionary by default.
>>> hou.node('/obj/box_object1').userDataDict()
{'___toolcount___': ‘1’, ‘___toolid___’: ‘sop_box’}
>>> hou.node('/obj/geo1').userDataDict()
{}
Graham Thompson, Technical Artist @ Rockstar Games
- mrCatfish
- Member
- 732 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2006
- Offline
- katanec
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: Oct. 2010
- Offline
-
- Quick Links