Quick question on exporting .abc;
What would be Houdini's equivalent to Maya's ‘locator objects’ is when exporting to Alembic?
Apparently when importing Alembic files into Nuke, from Maya, locator objects import as Axis nodes. I'd like to export from Houdini with similar locators.
Thanks!
Export to Alembic with 'Maya' like locators
15816 9 2- anon_user_37409885
- Member
- 4189 posts
- Joined: June 2012
- Offline
- Skybar
- Member
- 166 posts
- Joined: March 2013
- Offline
- Sadjad Rabiee
- Member
- 1391 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2010
- Offline
- anon_user_37409885
- Member
- 4189 posts
- Joined: June 2012
- Offline
- Sadjad Rabiee
- Member
- 1391 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2010
- Offline
- anon_user_37409885
- Member
- 4189 posts
- Joined: June 2012
- Offline
- robau
- Member
- 4 posts
- Joined:
- Offline
I know this topic is old, but it is a good one. I need to generate locators for nuke. I can export transform data that will come into maya as an empty group, but nuke can't see them. Needs to be an alembic with out extra manual steps in nuke (off the shelf nuke geoRead node).
Surely there has been some development on this as it would be useful to pass null transform information to maya or nuke or other packages.
Thanks in advance.
Surely there has been some development on this as it would be useful to pass null transform information to maya or nuke or other packages.
Thanks in advance.
- smbell
- Member
- 76 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2017
- Offline
robau
I know this topic is old, but it is a good one. I need to generate locators for nuke. I can export transform data that will come into maya as an empty group, but nuke can't see them. Needs to be an alembic with out extra manual steps in nuke (off the shelf nuke geoRead node).
Surely there has been some development on this as it would be useful to pass null transform information to maya or nuke or other packages.
Thanks in advance.
Did you ever find a solution to this? From the nuke documentation, it seems like it should work, but my houdini nulls will not import in nuke as axis or from the readgeo node.
- protozoan
- Member
- 1718 posts
- Joined: March 2009
- Offline
smbell
From the nuke documentation, it seems like it should work, but my houdini nulls will not import in nuke as axis or from the readgeo node.
It's not nuke's problem (for once), Houdini simply does not export nulls like that. There have been long standing RFEs for this, but so far, it's unsolved.
We work around the problem like this:
- make an empty geo in Houdini, merge all the Nulls' center points into it.
- Export that, read into Nuke via ReadGeo. Now you have a bunch of points in Nuke.
- Using a little python script inside Nuke, loop over the points, grab their position, and create Axes nodes accordingly
for info in nukescripts.snap3d.selectedVertexInfos(): position = info.position axisNode = nuke.nodes.Axis() axisNode['translate'].setValue(position)
This works well for markers on maps and stuff like that. Would need to be more elaborate if this has to serve rigging purposes of some kind.
Edited by protozoan - July 16, 2020 08:19:48
Martin Winkler
money man at Alarmstart Germany
money man at Alarmstart Germany
- Tomek P
- Member
- 11 posts
- Joined: Jan. 2015
- Offline
-
- Quick Links