Let's assume, that i have 1200 bgeo files (approximately 1MB) and i am randomly stamping 500 of them with a copy node using a file node in the left tree.
This approach is very slow (expectedly). However, how are you guys tackling such situations? My next approach would be loading all 1200 bgeo nodes into file nodes and then referencing them via the instance node.
Any more ideas?
Copy Stamp to File Sop Node
5443 11 1- schiho
- Member
- 101 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2012
- Offline
- Netvudu
- Member
- 304 posts
- Joined: May 2006
- Offline
- edward
- Member
- 7868 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Online
- circusmonkey
- Member
- 2624 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2006
- Offline
- edward
- Member
- 7868 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Online
- JordanWalsh
- Member
- 143 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2012
- Offline
Write the file path to a point attribute called “instancefile” then render with an instance geo node. You can use material overrides per point to change material settings.
Or render it with a normal geo node and use an instance sop and set the Instance Attribute to “instancefile”. You will need to use a renderstate node in your shader to access point attributes at rendertime for material overrides.
Or render it with a normal geo node and use an instance sop and set the Instance Attribute to “instancefile”. You will need to use a renderstate node in your shader to access point attributes at rendertime for material overrides.
- schiho
- Member
- 101 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2012
- Offline
@edward
when i am loading the files as packed disk primitives, i got bounding box, was this the idea?
i preloaded them into GEO-files, and it works like a charm. However, this is not so cool, when i want to change parmameters.
@circusmonkey
Wouldn't this mean to load every frame new files? That could be time-consuming when i want to scrub through the timeline.
when i am loading the files as packed disk primitives, i got bounding box, was this the idea?
i preloaded them into GEO-files, and it works like a charm. However, this is not so cool, when i want to change parmameters.
@circusmonkey
Wouldn't this mean to load every frame new files? That could be time-consuming when i want to scrub through the timeline.
- edward
- Member
- 7868 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Online
- luoqiulin
- Member
- 305 posts
- Joined: May 2007
- Online
- jlait
- Staff
- 6413 posts
- Joined: July 2005
- Offline
- JordanWalsh
- Member
- 143 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2012
- Offline
- schiho
- Member
- 101 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2012
- Offline
@jlait
Where would i have to put the cache node? After the copy node? I didn't get it exactly.
@JordanWalsh
The FileMerge just exploded my RAM usage
Currently the instancing method, having all geo's in seperate geo file sop's and referencing them through the instance attribute seems to be the fastest way.
Probably i am not applying all your hints perfectly, but it would be cool, when you could deliver minimal examples.
Where would i have to put the cache node? After the copy node? I didn't get it exactly.
@JordanWalsh
The FileMerge just exploded my RAM usage
Currently the instancing method, having all geo's in seperate geo file sop's and referencing them through the instance attribute seems to be the fastest way.
Probably i am not applying all your hints perfectly, but it would be cool, when you could deliver minimal examples.
-
- Quick Links