Maya command reference somewhere?
9409 8 3-
- NakedChicken
- Member
- 29 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2015
- Offline
-
- awong
- Member
- 818 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2013
- Offline
There's not much scripting capability in the plugin yet. The only two commands available right now are:
help houdiniAsset;
// Result:
Synopsis: houdiniAsset
Flags:
-cm -cookMessages Name
-la -loadAsset String String
-ls -listAssets String
-rl -reloadAsset String
-rs -resetSimulation Name
-sa -syncAttributes
-shi -syncHidden
-so -syncOutputs
-stm -syncTemplatedGeos
-syn -sync Name
Command Type: Command
//
help houdiniEngine;
// Result:
Synopsis: houdiniEngine
Flags:
-bev -buildHoudiniEngineVersion
-bhv -buildHoudiniVersion
-hev -houdiniEngineVersion
-hv -houdiniVersion
-lic -license
-sh -saveHIP String
Command Type: Command
//
They can be called from both MEL and python. Since they were created to build the UI, they only perform very basic functions. So it doesn't seem like they would be useful for the users. Though if you're interested in using them, feel free to take a look at the MEL files, like houdiniEngineCreateUI.mel and houdiniEngineAssetSync.mel.
help houdiniAsset;
// Result:
Synopsis: houdiniAsset
Flags:
-cm -cookMessages Name
-la -loadAsset String String
-ls -listAssets String
-rl -reloadAsset String
-rs -resetSimulation Name
-sa -syncAttributes
-shi -syncHidden
-so -syncOutputs
-stm -syncTemplatedGeos
-syn -sync Name
Command Type: Command
//
help houdiniEngine;
// Result:
Synopsis: houdiniEngine
Flags:
-bev -buildHoudiniEngineVersion
-bhv -buildHoudiniVersion
-hev -houdiniEngineVersion
-hv -houdiniVersion
-lic -license
-sh -saveHIP String
Command Type: Command
//
They can be called from both MEL and python. Since they were created to build the UI, they only perform very basic functions. So it doesn't seem like they would be useful for the users. Though if you're interested in using them, feel free to take a look at the MEL files, like houdiniEngineCreateUI.mel and houdiniEngineAssetSync.mel.
Andrew / アンドリュー
-
- NakedChicken
- Member
- 29 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2015
- Offline
-
- awong
- Member
- 818 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2013
- Offline
NakedChickenOops, forgot to reply to that question. That's the actual hou module [sidefx.com] that's inside a regular Houdini session. It's currently being “leaked” into the Maya python session, because Houdini is sharing the same python as Maya.
What about hou? If I type hou. in the Maya Python Script Editor I seem to have access to the entire hou libs. Can I actually use these in Maya or am I just glimpsing into another solution because of my pathing?
Technically, you could indeed use it to peek into (and control) the Houdini world from the Maya world. However, since Houdini Engine is meant to abstract away the Houdini world, using the hou module from the Maya world is probably fairly hairy and messy.
Note that the assets themselves could of course use the hou module within themselves, just like a regular Houdini asset.
Andrew / アンドリュー
-
- NakedChicken
- Member
- 29 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2015
- Offline
-
- paynter3d
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: June 2008
- Offline
I'm trying to script the loading of houdini assets into maya using houdiniAsset command
I couldn't find any examples on how to do so other then the following
Synopsis: houdiniAsset
Flags:
-cm -cookMessages Name
-la -loadAsset String String
-ls -listAssets String
-rl -reloadAsset String
-rs -resetSimulation Name
-sa -syncAttributes
-shi -syncHidden
-so -syncOutputs
-stm -syncTemplatedGeos
-syn -sync Name
i'm trying to do something along the lines of …
houdiniAsset -la “T
tools/houdini15.5/otls/test.hda”;
Though it looks like i need 2 strings for the loadAsset flag.
(that's assuming i'm even using it correctly)
Any example mel scripts on how to use the houdiniAsset mel? Or help in general?
Thanks
I couldn't find any examples on how to do so other then the following
Synopsis: houdiniAsset
Flags:
-cm -cookMessages Name
-la -loadAsset String String
-ls -listAssets String
-rl -reloadAsset String
-rs -resetSimulation Name
-sa -syncAttributes
-shi -syncHidden
-so -syncOutputs
-stm -syncTemplatedGeos
-syn -sync Name
i'm trying to do something along the lines of …
houdiniAsset -la “T

Though it looks like i need 2 strings for the loadAsset flag.
(that's assuming i'm even using it correctly)
Any example mel scripts on how to use the houdiniAsset mel? Or help in general?
Thanks
-
- awong
- Member
- 818 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2013
- Offline
Because an HDA could contain multiple assets, you need to pass the name of the asset as the second string. For example:
You could list the assets in a HDA by running:
houdiniAsset -loadAsset “T:/foo.hda” “Object/foo”
houdiniAsset -loadAsset “T:/foo.hda” “Sop/foo”
You could list the assets in a HDA by running:
houdiniAsset -listAssets “T:/foo.hda”
Andrew / アンドリュー
-
- samroe3d
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: March 2018
- Offline
-
- juliap
- Member
- 146 posts
- Joined: Oct. 2017
- Offline
-
- Quick Links