Hi,
I'm trying to expose/promote the Group parameter of a node inside a subnet/HDA so I can manually select points from the subnet/HDA exposed/promoted parameter. It works if we type in the values manually or select a group from the list, but as soon as I click the little arrow to make a manual selection, Houdini pops up a “argument of type ‘NoneType’ is not iterable” error message. What's going on? How can I make this work?
Click arrow on the exposed Group pararmeter in a subnet/HDA gives error...
7339 5 1- MathieuLeclaire
- Member
- 79 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2008
- Offline
- mbbuckley
- Member
- 47 posts
- Joined: Dec. 2016
- Offline
- MathieuLeclaire
- Member
- 79 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2008
- Offline
- DASD
- Member
- 453 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2013
- Offline
In the action button tab, replace the script with, the following and replace “keepMe” with the name of the node
import soputils
path = kwargs.path()+“/keepMe”
#keepMe is the name/relative path of the node we want to actually use.
kwargs = (hou.geometryType.Primitives,) #fix this for selection type
kwargs = hou.node(path)
kwargs = 0
soputils.selectGroupParm(kwargs)
import soputils
path = kwargs.path()+“/keepMe”
#keepMe is the name/relative path of the node we want to actually use.
kwargs = (hou.geometryType.Primitives,) #fix this for selection type
kwargs = hou.node(path)
kwargs = 0
soputils.selectGroupParm(kwargs)
- Kind Lau
- Member
- 1 posts
- Joined: March 2015
- Offline
Hi,
I have the same issue,but now I solved it.
The original group nodes has the action button script is :
If you want your hda has the same feature, you need to modified the script like this:
I hope it's helpful
I have the same issue,but now I solved it.
The original group nodes has the action button script is :
import soputils kwargs['geometrytype'] = kwargs['node'].parmTuple('grouptype') kwargs['inputindex'] = 0 soputils.selectGroupParm(kwargs)
If you want your hda has the same feature, you need to modified the script like this:
import soputils node = kwargs['node'] path = node.path() + "/split1" //the group node in your hda split_node = hou.node(path) //the group node in your hda kwargs['node'] = split_node //modifies the kwargs argments 'node' kwargs['geometrytype'] = kwargs['node'].parmTuple('grouptype') kwargs['inputindex'] = 0 soputils.selectGroupParm(kwargs)
I hope it's helpful
- tamte
- Member
- 8785 posts
- Joined: July 2007
- Offline
you don't need to reference or even have internal node that also uses group:
just either specify “grouptype” parameter on your HDA or define the type internally
just either specify “grouptype” parameter on your HDA or define the type internally
import soputils kwargs['geometrytype'] = hou.geometryType.Primitives kwargs['inputindex'] = 0 soputils.selectGroupParm(kwargs)
Edited by tamte - Dec. 9, 2019 14:24:08
Tomas Slancik
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
FX Supervisor
Method Studios, NY
-
- Quick Links