Setting up .env Houdini 18 for Renderman 23
8423 13 4-
- w007s
- Member
- 19 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2015
- Offline
Add an entry to the .env file:
RMANTREE=“C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0”
RFHTREE=“C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0”
RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH=$RFHTREE\18.0\openvdb;&
HOUDINI_PATH=$RFHTREE\18.0;&
PATH=$RMANTREE\bin;&
It also helps when an error occurs:
Cannot determine preloaded icons for shelf: <hou.Shelf ‘RenderMan23’>
and
Could not load C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/lib/rfh_ipr.dll
RMANTREE=“C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0”
RFHTREE=“C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0”
RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH=$RFHTREE\18.0\openvdb;&
HOUDINI_PATH=$RFHTREE\18.0;&
PATH=$RMANTREE\bin;&
It also helps when an error occurs:
Cannot determine preloaded icons for shelf: <hou.Shelf ‘RenderMan23’>
and
Could not load C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/lib/rfh_ipr.dll
Edited by w007s - Jan. 8, 2020 05:23:54
-
- dyts
- Member
- 119 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2018
- Offline
-
- w007s
- Member
- 19 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2015
- Offline
dytsWhere to write it? Which file? How is this introduced?
I prefer using package{
“env” : [
{“RFHTREE” : “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0”},
{“HOUDINI_PATH” : “$RFHTREE/18.0”},
{“RMANTREE” : “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManProServer-23.0”},
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE/bin”},
{“RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH” : “$RFHTREE/18.0/openvdb”}
]
}
Edited by w007s - Jan. 8, 2020 08:14:35
-
- dyts
- Member
- 119 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2018
- Offline
w007sdytsWhere to write it? Which file?
I prefer using package{
“env” : [
{“RFHTREE” : “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0”},
{“HOUDINI_PATH” : “$RFHTREE/18.0”},
{“RMANTREE” : “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManProServer-23.0”},
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE/bin”},
{“RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH” : “$RFHTREE/18.0/openvdb”}
]
}
I have a folder “packages” at houdini (on both my mac and PC) and inside all my json files renderman.json, redshift.json …
- David
-
- mabelzile
- Staff
- 447 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2018
- Offline
w007sTake a look at the documentation https://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini18.0/ref/plugins.html [www.sidefx.com]dytsWhere to write it? Which file? How is this introduced?
I prefer using package{
“env” : [
{“RFHTREE” : “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0”},
{“HOUDINI_PATH” : “$RFHTREE/18.0”},
{“RMANTREE” : “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManProServer-23.0”},
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE/bin”},
{“RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH” : “$RFHTREE/18.0/openvdb”}
]
}
-
- Mark Wallman
- Member
- 704 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2013
- Offline
-
- Mark Wallman
- Member
- 704 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2013
- Offline
Hi. In reference to how to set packages up question. I have one windows environment variable to point Houdini to the right location.
name: HOUDINI_USER_PREF_DIR
variable value: C:\Docs\houdini__HVER__
and then I have added all my packages inside the dir. (see screenshot). I have added a few examples as well so you can see what each package
says.
name: HOUDINI_USER_PREF_DIR
variable value: C:\Docs\houdini__HVER__
and then I have added all my packages inside the dir. (see screenshot). I have added a few examples as well so you can see what each package
says.
Edited by Mark Wallman - Jan. 8, 2020 08:53:17
-
- mabelzile
- Staff
- 447 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2018
- Offline
-
- Mark Wallman
- Member
- 704 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2013
- Offline
Hi Mabelzile
Thanks for replying.
I am still only getting the same error with verbose mode set to 1 (in my UHconfig.json file included here). Do I need to make the package higher up (renaming it something like A_UHconfig.json? like I have to do with Arnold?
Here is my renderman.json file as well. Best Mark
console..
= = = Houdini Package log = = =
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/Alicevision.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/A__HtoA.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/LYNX.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/MOPS.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/OTL.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/renderman.json’
ERROR: Syntax error in ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/renderman.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/SideFXLabs.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/toolbar.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/UHConfig.json’
EDIT: the plot thickens…
I have done just what the docs say..
https://rmanwiki.pixar.com/display/RFH23/Installation+of+RenderMan+for+Houdini [rmanwiki.pixar.com]
and still no joy. I have also made sure the renderman package is top of the list. My latest attempt is called A_renderman.json
Thanks for replying.
I am still only getting the same error with verbose mode set to 1 (in my UHconfig.json file included here). Do I need to make the package higher up (renaming it something like A_UHconfig.json? like I have to do with Arnold?
Here is my renderman.json file as well. Best Mark
console..
= = = Houdini Package log = = =
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/Alicevision.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/A__HtoA.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/LYNX.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/MOPS.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/OTL.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/renderman.json’
ERROR: Syntax error in ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/renderman.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/SideFXLabs.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/toolbar.json’
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/UHConfig.json’
EDIT: the plot thickens…
I have done just what the docs say..
https://rmanwiki.pixar.com/display/RFH23/Installation+of+RenderMan+for+Houdini [rmanwiki.pixar.com]
and still no joy. I have also made sure the renderman package is top of the list. My latest attempt is called A_renderman.json
Edited by Mark Wallman - Jan. 8, 2020 11:28:59
-
- mabelzile
- Staff
- 447 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2018
- Offline
-
- Mark Wallman
- Member
- 704 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2013
- Offline
Hi.
I have gone through and checked the file. doing what you advise. Now it is throwing up even more errors.
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/A_renderman.json’
ERROR: Syntax error in ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/A_renderman.json’
ERROR: JSON ERROR: Missing object key (need a string) (near byte offset 255, line 8, column 2)
Here is my text
{
“env” :
[
{“RMANTREE” : “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0”},
{“RFHTREE” : “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0”},
{“RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH=$RFHTREE” : “RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH=$RFHTREE”},
{“HOUDINI_PATH” : “$RFHTREE\18.0;&”,
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE\bin;&”},
]
}
this is line 8:
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE\bin;&”},
And I am including my Json file as well. I am coping the exact text from the rmanWiki in my previous post. Best Mark
EDIT: I have just noticed my “ is still different to yours. I'm wondering if this is my text editor. I will check now.
Nope still the same error. I am pressing shift + 2 to get my ”
Sorry for the mass reediting: so the part that seems wrong is the : in this line
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE\bin”},
I am still non the wiser on what to fix though. Best Mark
I have gone through and checked the file. doing what you advise. Now it is throwing up even more errors.
Processing ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/A_renderman.json’
ERROR: Syntax error in ‘C:/Docs/houdini18.0/packages/A_renderman.json’
ERROR: JSON ERROR: Missing object key (need a string) (near byte offset 255, line 8, column 2)
Here is my text
{
“env” :
[
{“RMANTREE” : “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0”},
{“RFHTREE” : “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0”},
{“RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH=$RFHTREE” : “RMAN_PROCEDURALPATH=$RFHTREE”},
{“HOUDINI_PATH” : “$RFHTREE\18.0;&”,
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE\bin;&”},
]
}
this is line 8:
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE\bin;&”},
And I am including my Json file as well. I am coping the exact text from the rmanWiki in my previous post. Best Mark
EDIT: I have just noticed my “ is still different to yours. I'm wondering if this is my text editor. I will check now.
Nope still the same error. I am pressing shift + 2 to get my ”
Sorry for the mass reediting: so the part that seems wrong is the : in this line
{“PATH” : “$RMANTREE\bin”},
I am still non the wiser on what to fix though. Best Mark
Edited by Mark Wallman - Jan. 9, 2020 15:04:34
-
- Mark Wallman
- Member
- 704 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2013
- Offline
Hi.
I now have the Json file working. But now I am getting sideFX and renderman software errors..
Could not load C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/lib/rfh_ipr.dll
The specified module could not be found.
Error running pythonrc.py:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs/pythonrc.py”, line 47, in <module>
rfh.prefs.init_prefs()
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs\rfh\prefs.py”, line 223, in init_prefs
_getprefs('rfh', modules)
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs\rfh\prefs.py”, line 198, in _getprefs
eval(compile('import %s' % fmod, ‘<string>’, ‘exec’))
File “<string>”, line 1, in <module>
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs\rfh\preset_browser_houdini.py”, line 36, in <module>
from prman import Version as prman_version
File “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0\bin\prman.py”, line 45, in <module>
class __private: # simple means to keep locals private
File “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0\bin\prman.py”, line 70, in __private
libprman = ctypes.CDLL(file, ctypes.RTLD_GLOBAL)
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.287\python27\lib\ctypes\__init__.py”, line 366, in __init__
self._handle = _dlopen(self._name, mode)
WindowsError: The specified module could not be found
I now have the Json file working. But now I am getting sideFX and renderman software errors..
Could not load C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/lib/rfh_ipr.dll
The specified module could not be found.
Error running pythonrc.py:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs/pythonrc.py”, line 47, in <module>
rfh.prefs.init_prefs()
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs\rfh\prefs.py”, line 223, in init_prefs
_getprefs('rfh', modules)
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs\rfh\prefs.py”, line 198, in _getprefs
eval(compile('import %s' % fmod, ‘<string>’, ‘exec’))
File “<string>”, line 1, in <module>
File “C:/Program Files/Pixar/RenderManForHoudini-23.0/18.0/python2.7libs\rfh\preset_browser_houdini.py”, line 36, in <module>
from prman import Version as prman_version
File “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0\bin\prman.py”, line 45, in <module>
class __private: # simple means to keep locals private
File “C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManProServer-23.0\bin\prman.py”, line 70, in __private
libprman = ctypes.CDLL(file, ctypes.RTLD_GLOBAL)
File “C:\PROGRA~1\SIDEEF~1\HOUDIN~1.287\python27\lib\ctypes\__init__.py”, line 366, in __init__
self._handle = _dlopen(self._name, mode)
WindowsError: The specified module could not be found
-
- Mark Wallman
- Member
- 704 posts
- Joined: Aug. 2013
- Offline
-
- AnimGraphLab
- Member
- 66 posts
- Joined: May 2019
- Offline
Just for anyone who will encounter similar issues.
1. Make sure RenderMan for Houdini is Python 3 version.
2. Use installation via packages (json file). RenderMan has provided a json file at: "C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-25.2\packages\renderman_for_houdini.json"
3. Copy-paste this file to: "C:\Users\<YOUR_USERNAME>\Documents\houdini19.5\packages" (houdini<your_version_of_houdini>).
4. Delete everything related to Renderman from houdini.env as json file will do the same and if both are used together, it may cause conflicts. Related post: https://www.sidefx.com/forum/topic/71405/?page=1#post-302661 [www.sidefx.com]
Find "Package installation": https://rmanwiki.pixar.com/display/RFH25/Installation+of+RenderMan+for+Houdini [rmanwiki.pixar.com]
1. Make sure RenderMan for Houdini is Python 3 version.
2. Use installation via packages (json file). RenderMan has provided a json file at: "C:\Program Files\Pixar\RenderManForHoudini-25.2\packages\renderman_for_houdini.json"
3. Copy-paste this file to: "C:\Users\<YOUR_USERNAME>\Documents\houdini19.5\packages" (houdini<your_version_of_houdini>).
4. Delete everything related to Renderman from houdini.env as json file will do the same and if both are used together, it may cause conflicts. Related post: https://www.sidefx.com/forum/topic/71405/?page=1#post-302661 [www.sidefx.com]
Find "Package installation": https://rmanwiki.pixar.com/display/RFH25/Installation+of+RenderMan+for+Houdini [rmanwiki.pixar.com]
For Houdini 19.0 and beyond, RenderMan for Houdini can be installed with a packages file, found in the RfH installation directory.
Edited by AnimGraphLab - April 21, 2024 03:24:25
Generalist. Transforming still images to 3D animation 🔮
Socials: https://linktr.ee/AnimGraphLab [linktr.ee]
Socials: https://linktr.ee/AnimGraphLab [linktr.ee]
-
- Quick Links