Hey everybody,
I put together a quick little SOP that lets you call instant meshes from inside Houdini.
For those that don't know, instant meshes is a really cool open source software that does a great job with quad remeshing.
https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes [github.com]
So I made a little sop that wraps around the command line interface for it and will remesh and bring it back into Houdini for you. The awesome model is done by Mike Pavlovich [artstation.com].
Behind the scenes what it's doing is saving off the input geo as an OBJ, running the instant meshes commandline and then bringing the output obj back into Houdini. Saves you a few steps.
Unfortunately the cool feature of combing the topology isn't available commandline, but you can still get some pretty nice results with the defaults.
To use it, download the instant meshes exe and point to it in the Setting tab of the SOP, and then setup some OBJ paths for the temp data (somewhere writable)
You can download the HDA HERE [kruelgames.com]
Then just select your target polycount and hit Bake!
Let me know if you have any questions! And I hope someone finds it useful
Instant Meshes Bridge Sop
74077 93 22- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
- Cyzor
- Member
- 181 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2013
- Offline
- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
Yeah, let me know if you need any help. It should be pretty straight forward.
Here's an example done to a Pyro mesh.
Left is IsoOffset, Middle is InstantMeshes, Right is Remesh
For this case I actually used the remesh data to feed into InstantMeshes as it gave better results
Here's an example done to a Pyro mesh.
Left is IsoOffset, Middle is InstantMeshes, Right is Remesh
For this case I actually used the remesh data to feed into InstantMeshes as it gave better results
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
- goldleaf
- Staff
- 4195 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2007
- Offline
- Cyzor
- Member
- 181 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2013
- Offline
- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
- Cyzor
- Member
- 181 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2013
- Offline
- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
- Cyzor
- Member
- 181 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2013
- Offline
- goldleaf
- Staff
- 4195 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2007
- Offline
Hey Luiz, I hope you don't mind, I added a version that cooks itself, and does all the obj bookkeeping behind the scenes; should make it friendlier for batch processing geometry.
It has a Cache SOP to take care of cooking if something changes per-frame, or just to stash the results, without requiring pressing bake. Since it uses $TEMP, it ‘should’ be cross-platform! Holler if it goes wrong!
You can switch between the two versions by adding the Operator Type Bar to the parameter pane. Go to Asset > Manage Asset Libraries… > Configuration ), and towards the bottom of that window set Operator Type Bar to Display Menu of All Definitions.
If only the guide curves were a command-line option too… *sigh*
Hope it's useful!
*edit* added a hip file
It has a Cache SOP to take care of cooking if something changes per-frame, or just to stash the results, without requiring pressing bake. Since it uses $TEMP, it ‘should’ be cross-platform! Holler if it goes wrong!
You can switch between the two versions by adding the Operator Type Bar to the parameter pane. Go to Asset > Manage Asset Libraries… > Configuration ), and towards the bottom of that window set Operator Type Bar to Display Menu of All Definitions.
If only the guide curves were a command-line option too… *sigh*
Hope it's useful!
*edit* added a hip file
Edited by goldleaf - June 23, 2016 21:33:14
I'm o.d.d.
- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
Hahaha! That's why I love open source development!
That's so awesome! That was on my todo list and you implemented it better than I would've.
I originally did it with the bake button because I thought it would be too slow (because i was testing with 7million poly meshes), but when I did the test with the Pyro I thought that it could probably work like a regular sop.
Where can I download it? And can I add it to our Game Development Tools? The last thing I want to do is stash the executable path somewhere like a global variable to if you create a new node you don't have to fill it out.
Thanks a lot!
And yeah, command line options for the guided inputs and adaptive resolution (so you don't get even quads) would be nice updates.
That's so awesome! That was on my todo list and you implemented it better than I would've.
I originally did it with the bake button because I thought it would be too slow (because i was testing with 7million poly meshes), but when I did the test with the Pyro I thought that it could probably work like a regular sop.
Where can I download it? And can I add it to our Game Development Tools? The last thing I want to do is stash the executable path somewhere like a global variable to if you create a new node you don't have to fill it out.
Thanks a lot!
And yeah, command line options for the guided inputs and adaptive resolution (so you don't get even quads) would be nice updates.
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
- goldleaf
- Staff
- 4195 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2007
- Offline
Thanks, glad it's helpful!
Ah, I somehow deleted the attachment when I originally posted; it's back now! And yes of course, feel free to add it!
I wish the guides input was a bit easier to pull apart from the GUI application, because this would make an awesome SOP! Even for non-games, being able to remesh VDB fractures to get better topology would be super helpful. But this is nice to have until that happy day! Thanks for starting it!
Cheers!
lkruel
Where can I download it? And can I add it to our Game Development Tools?
Ah, I somehow deleted the attachment when I originally posted; it's back now! And yes of course, feel free to add it!
lkruel
And yeah, command line options for the guided inputs and adaptive resolution (so you don't get even quads) would be nice updates.
I wish the guides input was a bit easier to pull apart from the GUI application, because this would make an awesome SOP! Even for non-games, being able to remesh VDB fractures to get better topology would be super helpful. But this is nice to have until that happy day! Thanks for starting it!
Cheers!
Edited by goldleaf - June 23, 2016 21:48:16
I'm o.d.d.
- goldleaf
- Staff
- 4195 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2007
- Offline
I just had another idea though: why not include an option to download the tool and stick it in the user's Houdini config dir? Maybe as a pop-up window the first time it launches; then download the one corresponding to their OS and stick it in $HIH. Then the OTL could point to (as an example) $HIH/bin/instant_meshes by default.
I'm o.d.d.
- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
- grayOlorin
- Member
- 1799 posts
- Joined: Oct. 2010
- Offline
- lkruel
- Member
- 240 posts
- Joined: Nov. 2012
- Offline
Thanks Gianny. I have an update the incorporates goldleaf's fixes and adds another layer of caching (caches the high_obj so you don't have to reexport it when you're tweaking polycounts). I'll upload it this week, just testing it as a part of a larger pipeline.
Luiz Kruel
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
Senior Technical Artist
SideFX
- grayOlorin
- Member
- 1799 posts
- Joined: Oct. 2010
- Offline
- 9krausec
- Member
- 66 posts
- Joined: Feb. 2017
- Offline
- goldleaf
- Staff
- 4195 posts
- Joined: Sept. 2007
- Offline
-
- Quick Links